+ Post New Thread
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, Smartcache & Admin Domain in Technical; Hi there, I am new to this school and one of things I found out first was that all the ...
    Thank Post

Smartcache & Admin Domain

Hi there,

I am new to this school and one of things I found out first was that all the teachers/staff on our Admin domain are not filtered/monitored for the web access. So I'm trying to push our Admin network through the Smartcache box for webfiltering but am scratching my head with some issues.

The machines being tested are Windows XP sp3 running versions of IE 6 & 7. The issues are all the same.

I have done the follwoing:
    Added the admin domain onto the SC box and after a refresh it has picked up all of our Admin domain machines.
    I then found my machine which is on the Admin domain and changed the filter level from DEFAULT to UNFILTERED.
    On my Admin machine I installed the RMSmartC component and made sure that port 113 was open in the firewall.
    After restartign my machine I added the SC details as the proxy settings for my browser.

The issue(s):
    I can only browse the web with the security on the SC box set to 'Enabled without Security'. If it is set to 'Enabled eith Security' then I get an access denied page no matter where I try to browse.
    With security set to 'Enabled without Security', I can browse the web fine but get bocked on some sites by SC. It says that the DEFAULT poilcy has blocked me!?!?!
    When I do a search for where I have been, there is no domain or usernmame info in the audit log and my machine is recorded by its IP address and not its workstation name. Which is probably why the UNFILTERED policy isn't applying!

Can someone please point out to me if I'm missing something somewhere! Does anything need to be done to the Admin network DNS?

Please help if you can.

Much appreciated.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    On phone at moment so better reponse will come later.