+ Post New Thread
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, Upgrading Zimbra in Technical; I'm a bit of a noob with Linux so this is a fairly hefty undertaking, yet confident enough in my ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Upgrading Zimbra

I'm a bit of a noob with Linux so this is a fairly hefty undertaking, yet confident enough in my google-fu to muddle round. However, any advice from those that have done it would be appreciatd.

We currently run Zimbra 7.2.x OSE on Ubuntu 8.04LTS. Runs perfectly well, except the mass upgrade to Internet Explorer 11 has caused issues (no folders or colour codes!) Staff have access to Chrome so that's not a major issue, so we're looking at long term plans. Also we have diminishing storage, and at the rate of growth we've 6 months left before we fill up.

1. Go to Office 365. Ugh!
    2. Upgrade.

2. is my favoured approach. The plan would be to set up Ubuntu 12.04 (or 14.04 if a newer version of Zimbra allows this) with Zimbra 8.0.x (currently 8.0.7).
    However, shifting settings and data over seems to be quite a large job, plus something I'd be a *lot*/ more comfy with if I could test it. So far, I can't see a way of doing this without JFDI, live. (thankfully it's on ESX so we can happily snapshot away)

Would there be a way to clone it and have it usable without it connecting to the network/pulling in any mail/clients connecting to it, so I could use it for testing?

And when it comes to it, the upgrade path would be:

Update to Zimbra 7.2.7
    Upgrade Ubuntu to 10.04
    Update to Zimbra 8.0.7
    Upgrade Ubuntu to 12.04
    Cross fingers it works!

Quite long winded it seems!

Thank Post
    Last edited by MicrodigitUK; 13th May 2014 at 01:53 PM.

3. Thanks to MicrodigitUK from:

synaesthesia (14th May 2014)

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by MicrodigitUK View Post
    Hey, that's me!