+ Post New Thread
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, how internetwork works? in Technical; hello friends. i'm a computer student from india. i know some basic things but still confused. i don't know how ...

Thank Post

how internetwork works?

hello friends. i'm a computer student from india. i know some basic things but still confused.
    i don't know how it exactly works. i have some doubts.

how two countries (server) can be connected? i have heard it is done through large optical cable wires under the sea. it is unbelievable thing. but i know it is true. but when satellite is used then?

i know things about client and server. if i google something like 'yahoo answers', it shows 'in.yahoo.answers.com'. why it doesn't show yahoo's main site? how does it work?

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hiren43 View Post
    how two countries (server) can be connected? i have heard it is done through large optical cable wires under the sea. it is unbelievable thing. but i know it is true. but when satellite is used then?
    A good place to start might be Wikipedia's page on the Internet Protocol (IP):

Internet Protocol - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Different language translations are probably available, too, which might come in handy if English isn't your native language.

You're right, the engineering involved in running a cable accross the sea is quite remarkable when you think about it, as is putting a communications satellite in orbit. The internet protocol is designed to use multiple channels, if available, to communicate between locations. Each communications channel (under-sea fibre, satellite, etc) is weighted according to speed / cost / bandwidth, so in most cases traffic from one country to another probably goes via undersea fibre, but if a link goes down it might use satellite instead.