+ Post New Thread
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, Search engines in Technical; I'm a primary school teacher. If I want my class to do any research, I am required to select which ...

Thank Post

Search engines

I'm a primary school teacher. If I want my class to do any research, I am required to select which search terms they can use and pre-check them all. The children may not use their own search terms. Wikipedia is banned because it might not be accurate enough. Google has just been banned because our service provider has realised they are not able to force Safesearch on and a pupil might switch it off. Youtube is blocked, even to teachers.

I understand and agree with the need to cover our backs, and the desire to shield children from undesirable content. However, I can't help feeling we're being steered by a series of knee-jerk reactions rather than a properly thought-through programme of educating children to conduct themselves safely, coupled with a risk assessment policy that balances risk against educational benefit. After all, as soon as the kids leave the premises they'll be using their unfiltered phones with their friends.

Maybe I just need a summer holiday. Am I being unreasonable?

Thank Post
    Sounds like you need to a new service provider for a start as enforcing safe search is fairly easy as it it involves is adding something to the end of every url request for a Google search.
    I find that "Wikipedia is banned because it may not be accurate enough" to be a strange one, while this maybe true I'm sure it will be good enough, who came up with this ?
    YouTube completely blocked ? What about the education side of it, it may not cover everything but it's a start at least.
    I'm sure some people from primaries could suggest some search engines that they use that maybe better for the younger audience.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,567 Times in 1,407 Posts