+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, WordPress. Help! in Technical; Hi folks, (Hopefully this is the right forum as it does start with "Internet Related...") Among my many random requests ...
    Thank Post

Question WordPress. Help!

Hi folks,

(Hopefully this is the right forum as it does start with "Internet Related...")

Among my many random requests I have been asked about setting up WordPress for students to use. I have zero knowledge about WordPress.

I've asked a few IT friends and was mostly pointed towards Microsoft Web Platform as a simple place to start (short of building LAMP servers etc.)

I've installed it on a Win 7 PC, but can't seem to configure it remotely - I've pointed to the server from another machine using the IP address, the relevant port, and /wp-admin (which is working as localhost).

Can anyone advise what I'm doing wrong from a remote access POV, or recommend a guide?

My long term plan is to install it on a dedicated VM which the students can trash, and I'll then just return to an earlier snapshot.

TIA

Thank Post
    Howdo

My first recommendation would be (especially if you're going to VM it anyway) to use a *nix distro (I use Ubuntu for all things like that).

If you use the server edition, then you can pretty much get it to set up out of the box by telling it you want the webserver and MySQL etc. In terms of guides for using it, Main Page « WordPress Codex is a great place to start.

Getting to the remote access point, I assume that the machine you've installed on has port 80 open on it for accessing the webserver and such? If it does, are you accessing it using an IP address or domain name? If domain name, does your DNS have the pointers in place to make sure it gets to the right machine etc?

3. Thanks to soveryapt from:

Gongalong (5th July 2013)

Thank Post
    Yes, firewall's disabled on the Windows PC. I tried accessing only by IP address.