+ Post New Thread
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, Smoothwall / Lightspeed AD Auth Process in Technical; Hey guys, I hope this hasn't been done to death, but a quick search didn't reveal exactly what I was ...

Thank Post

Smoothwall / Lightspeed AD Auth Process

Hey guys, I hope this hasn't been done to death, but a quick search didn't reveal exactly what I was looking for, and I'm new to filtering management, so here it goes:

I'm wondering what the user experiences when either Smoothwall or Lightspeed box is set to authenticate with the AD. At the moment, our filtering is managed by our LEA and there's simply one web for all, and very little in the way of reporting. The benefits of AD integration seem pretty great, but I'm wondering how they affect the user.

I've read somewhere that Lightspeed uses/can use a program that submits logging info silently to the user, effectively making the process invisible - but what if it's a user's device? Will it just default to a login page? This behaviour seems preferable.

With Smoothwall, is there a way of achieving something similar? I'm a little concerned about the backlash of teachers/office staff suddenly finding a barrier to the internet.

Also, regarding both, do web sessions time out? Say a member of the office staff wasn't active for an hour, would they have to sign in again? I can see how that would get fairly annoying..

In an ideal world, the process would be totally invisible to the user on school machines, and it sounds like Lightspeed has that covered. Is Smoothwall making any ground on this front? Is this premise incorrect anyway?

All info, including links to RTFM (considering I don't have one!) will be greatly appreciated! If it isn't clear, at the moment I have a preference for Smoothwall, but Lightspeed and My Big Campus do sound interesting.

Thanks, Ed

Thank Post
    Blog Entries