+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, Web Filtering Options in Technical; Hi Everyone, On April 1st this year I am to take a position of Schools IT Manager at a local ...
    Thank Post

Web Filtering Options

Hi Everyone,

On April 1st this year I am to take a position of Schools IT Manager at a local primary school,
    at the moment they get there web filtering from the LEA via a central websense box. At the end of March the
    LEA will be disbanding the schools team and the schools will lose access to the web filtering they currently receive.

I have no experience in setting up web filtering as this is something my previous boss insisted he would do (knowledge is power),
    so my questions are as follows;

• What is a good solution for a school (e.g. smoothwall, symantec cloud etc)
    • Which solutions are cost efective (e.g. best value)
    • Minimum and ease of install (e.g. is any special hardware needed etc, will companies set it up for a fee etc).
    • Ease of use after installation.

Thanks in Advance.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,051 Times in 920 Posts
    Smoothwall Smoothwall and Smoothwall That is the simple and quickest answer

You can get a rack mount appliance so buy the box, fit the box, 30 minutes at max to get initial basic configuration done and then it just looks after itself It really is that simple

3. Thanks to john from:

tom_newton (29th January 2013)

Thank Post
    Hi John,

What sort of price is smoothwall ???

Its really difficult to get an answer at them when you want one.

Thank Post
    It depends on the product, package, size of UTM, features you need etc... also any LA options etc... So I cannot help with that, all I can say is when I last reviewed UTM based appliances Smoothwall came out Best Value.