+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
How do you do....it? Thread, Python IDLE in Technical; We're looking to install Python with the IDLE into some of our ICT suites so the students can do some ...
    Thank Post

Python IDLE

We're looking to install Python with the IDLE into some of our ICT suites so the students can do some programming. Sounds great but has anyone done this and if so what issues have you have with security policies etc?

My concern is that Python will not obey ntfs permissions/group policies etc correctly and students could write scripts to access system files and so on, not being a Python programmer I've not had a lot to do with it!

I'm all for getting the students programming but I'm conscious of the pitfalls.

Thank Post
    Python is like any other windows program. It has to obey ntfs permissions. The only problems are if the permissions arn't set properly, or when code is submitted to a teacher. If a teacher (or admin) runs a students program, then it will run with the teachers permissions. Practically I don't think there is much chance of this being a problem, but the risk is there. The best solution to that is if the member of staff reads the code before running it. most stuff should be obvious.

Thank Post
    Thats a good start anyway - I had intended to put a windows firewall rule in to block python.exe from any network access as they don't need to do it.

I'm not being deliberately awkward, but we do need to pre-empt any problems that can causes issues. Teachers and students have broadly similar permissions on networked PCs anyway so that shouldn't be too much of an issue.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    I'm not being deliberately awkward
    Yeah you are... but that's your job

I'm following this with interest as i'm doing some reading try to pre-empt the inevitable. The ICT guys are dabbling with KODU and scratch, but it's only a matter of time!

Thank Post