+ Post New Thread
How do you do....it? Thread, Network Procedures in Technical; Hi Guys, I hope you can assist, I am an new learning it technician at a school and I would ...

Thank Post

Network Procedures

Hi Guys,

I hope you can assist, I am an new learning it technician at a school and I would like to know your procedures for looking after your network,

1) I at the moment collecting all the software licences, how do you keep up with what is installed now and in the future,

2) Is there any standard documents that I could use to help with this procedure or any it related procedure or do you guys have anything.

Any help would be appreciated I`m really looking for the paperwork side as at the moment the assets and software is a mess, but I am installing new images, so I get the chance to track and categorise the software installed.

cheers

Ian
    Last edited by chaddlad; 15th March 2012 at 07:49 PM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,140 Times in 1,036 Posts
    I have a bunch of Folders with all the licensing information in - I have have 2 filing cabinets of software CD's.

If its not in the folders or they cannot put information in front of me to say its licensed then I don't install it. Most companies will let you now licensing information.

I even have copies of free software license agreements - Just keeps those auditors on side

Thank Post
    thanks for the reply, do you follow any required procedures within the school that ofstead my require, there were pdfs on here recently but I can't find it now.

Cheers Ian

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,140 Times in 1,036 Posts
    Nope - I'm not the best with paperwork though

Thank Post