+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
How do you do....it? Thread, Security Marking in Technical; We've had a spate of computer and projectors stolen from schools in our area recently. The police have been round ...
    Thank Post

Security Marking

We've had a spate of computer and projectors stolen from schools in our area recently.

The police have been round advising schools about security and equipment marking. They've recommended two products, about the same, involving stenciling indelible paint. They are Selectamark and Idmark.

Selectamark
    ID Mark

We've used black and UV 'security' pens but they rub off over time.

I've seen these products in previous work places before I worked in IT. They're ugly but the do the job.

Has anyone any ideas or recommendations on these two products?

Thanks.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Re: Security Marking

we have uv pen and then eitching kit

next we got design department to crete a stencil for the eitcher

russ

Thank Post

We use Selectamark - very effective in that it does not come off. However it has not stopped thieves breaking in and helping themselves.

It seems they just put the insides into new cases. I'd like to see what they do to the monitors though.

Thank Post

What's the etching kit like? Will it do plastic or metal? - I'm thinking of PC cases and most hardware.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

yes kit came from espo but can get them almost anyway it is electrical and does all surfaces...

the only bad point due to nature of them can give you arm ache if use constently for few hours so do it in short burst is best..

Russ

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Hate those etchers - messy and a lot of fuss.

We've got a small dremel and use the engraving tool to do it. More fun and makes that annoying noise like a dentists drill! :twisted:

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

yes mark sounds like what we have got here i call it etchers but yes engraving tool yes does sound like a dentist drill

russ

Thank Post