+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
How do you do....it? Thread, Creating Home Folder.. and getting it to map for users in Technical; Hi all. I am new to creating home folders on our Domain's network. For some reason, we have never used ...

Thank Post

Creating Home Folder.. and getting it to map for users

Hi all.

I am new to creating home folders on our Domain's network.
    For some reason, we have never used them, but I'm playing around and am trying to get one configured for myself.

I 'think' I have everything set up right, from what I've seen on the internet.
    I create a folder on a server (lets call the server 'server1') and share it as 'homefolders'.

\\server1\homefolders

and I share it out to everyone with full access. (Just for the sake of getting this to work)

then I go into my active directory account for my username (lets call it 'dgrams')
    So I assign "Connect:" to "G" and TO: "\\server1\homefolders\dgrams"

After I OK out of this and save all settings, I check the directory, and a 'dgrams' folder
    has been created. So far so good...?
    I log back in on a client machine as 'dgrams' and go into MY COMPUTER to see if my
    HomeFolder is set up on Drive G, and it doesnt show at all.

Up to this point, have I done anything wrong?

Thank Post
    You still need to use folder redirection for my documents, once that is done it should work

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by p-dave View Post
    You still need to use folder redirection for my documents, once that is done it should work
    No, it should still work with or without folder redirect, should still be a drive G: in My Computer.

Thank Post
    Don't give them "full control" just "modify", then they can't delete the actual folder just the contents, it save a lot of hassle believe me

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by dgrams View Post
    Hi all.

So I assign "Connect:" to "G" and TO: "\\server1\homefolders\dgrams"