+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
How do you do....it? Thread, Staff Laptops on school and home internet in Technical; Ever since I started here way back in 2004 as an apprentice, I've known that staff have wanted to use ...
    Thank Post

Staff Laptops on school and home internet

Ever since I started here way back in 2004 as an apprentice, I've known that staff have wanted to use school laptops at home on their wireless broadband whilst also being able to come into school, log onto the network and use the internet in school without hassle.

My problem is that we don't want them fiddling with proxy settings and changing between our proxy and no proxy. Is there a way in GPO that we can change their internet settings to switch between the two configurations?

Some of our staff are more technically minded and change the settings themselves but as stated we'd rather they not do this. I wanted to maybe get this sorted seeing as at the moment I actually have some free-ish time.

Any help appreciated,
    Darren

Thank Post

3. Thanks to marekbrad from:

DAZZD88 (13th January 2010)

Thank Post
    That's greatly appreciated but unfortunately that would involve staff having to do something for themselves. Unfortunately I would like this to be a seamless switch where the user is required to do nothing. If that makes sense?

Thank Post
    The thing to do is set up an auto proxy using WPAD How to configure Microsoft DNS and WINS to reserve WPAD registration
    within school. Then you just configure the laptops via GPO to auto discovery.

6. Thanks to jsnetman from:

Thank Post
    We just have the user log in locally when at home (with the proxy not configured), and use their network accounts when in school (GPO configures the proxy)

8. Thanks to tommccann from:

Thank Post
    Surely what you need to be using is a pac file for this ?

Proxy auto-config - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

10. Thanks to richardp from:

Thank Post