+ Post New Thread
How do you do....it? Thread, Get Exchange Server talking to the outside world. in Technical; Please help, I'm tearing my hair out with what should be simple. I'm new to Exchange Server. I'm working for ...
    Thank Post

Get Exchange Server talking to the outside world.

Please help, I'm tearing my hair out with what should be simple.

I'm new to Exchange Server. I'm working for a private client over the summer holidays and the want an email system in their office.

Six users, all using the same btconnect email address.

I've set up Exchange Server 2003 Standard edition (evaluation), and a couple of mailbox-enabled test user accounts. They can happily send email to each other, share calendars etc. on the local domain.

(I thought that I could put the incoming external email into a public folder for them all to see).

Now how do I get them to be able to send email to the outside world using their btconnect email account? In Outlook, you enter the name, email address, password, incoming POP3 and outgoing SMTP email servers, and it just works. Where do you put the equivalent information in Exchange?

I feel like a complete idiot with this. I'm obviously going about this the wrong way. What am I doing wrong? ](*,)

I intend to set up Exchange at the school next term, so I need to get this mastered before I start there.

(Fortunately, my client know I haven't set up Exchange before, so they're letting me use this as a training session - I'm not charging them for this)

Thanks.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Re: Get Exchange Server talking to the outside world.

Doesn't work like that. You need to use a SMTP connector for outbound mail.

http://www.amset.info/exchange/smtp-connector.asp

You can't pull email from a POP3/IMAP account with Exchange. You'd have to use something like fetchmail (cygwin port from *nix is your best bet). Or have the remote SMTP server push mail to you (assuming exchange is doing mail for your domain).

Thank Post