+ Post New Thread
How do you do....it? Thread, Create a secure scratch folder on login in Technical; When i was at college each computer had a scratch partition which was used for local temporary storage, the idea ...
    Thank Post

Create a secure scratch folder on login

When i was at college each computer had a scratch partition which was used for local temporary storage, the idea being if you were doing audio or video editing you don't encounter bandwidth issues.
    When a user logged in a folder would be created in the scratch partition with the username and only that person could access that folder (permission denied to anyone else), so if only 10 people had logged in on that machine there would only be 10 folders present.

I'm trying to recreate something similar but on a network share rather than a drive partition but i'm struggling to find a way create the folders. It's an RM CC3 network and i have a vbscript which runs as a post desktop application, so it's executed just after the desktop is loaded. The problem is that the folder permissions for the root of the share need write access for all students to create the folders, and when the folders are created those write permissions are inherited onto the userfolder, so everyone has full access.

So i'm struggling to find a way to set the top level permissions so that created subfolders don't inherit permissions and just allow the 'owner' full access.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by morganw View Post
    When i was at college each computer had a scratch partition which was used for local temporary storage, the idea being if you were doing audio or video editing you don't encounter bandwidth issues.
    That basically what we do.

I'm trying to recreate something similar but on a network share rather than a drive partition but i'm struggling to find a way create the folders.
    Surely putting it on the network brings back bandwidth issues ?