+ Post New Thread
How do you do....it? Thread, Exam day setup in Technical; Well exam time will soon be with us. What provision do folks here provide for pratical part of GCSE and ...

Thank Post

Exam day setup

Well exam time will soon be with us.

What provision do folks here provide for pratical part of GCSE and A-Level ICT/Computer Studies.

Do you have networked or standalone stations? What kind of seating arrangements do you have? What printing setup do use.

The usaual pratice where I am is to have networked stations to give us flexibility in seating and printing. For security the stations run in a dracionian kiosk mode. No MySpace on exam day

As well the summer examniations do you have to provide for other testing on rollig basis during the year: C&G, CLAIT, EDCL etc?

Thank Post

Re: Exam day setup

I have no experience with practical IT exams but I would say that you should probably ensure that Internet and email access is removed for the session so that cheating can be reduced to a minimum.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

I've just had to set up a policy for the 6th form ICT students for an EDEXCEL exam they're having. They had to have access to a certain amount of files, have no access to the internet or email, had to have access to a printer and to be able to save their files in an area where no other student has access to.

I created a script which redirects their home drives to another place (and another one which changes it back after they're finished) and I created a software restriction policy to allow them to only run Word and Excel, the only software they need for the exam. I also prevented them from being able to access local drives on the PC.

The idea is to run the script to redirect their homedrives on exam day and to enable the GPO link.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,053 Times in 922 Posts