+ Post New Thread
How do you do....it? Thread, Software & Group Policies in Technical; I'm planning on deploying some software using group policy. I've never done this before but it doesn't appear to be ...

Thank Post

Software & Group Policies

I'm planning on deploying some software using group policy. I've never done this before but it doesn't appear to be difficult. I'm just wondering if there is anything important that I should know before I go ahead with this. Any good tutorials would be appreciated.

I'm going to be assigning the software to computers. Will this mean that the software is installed once and that's it or will it install each time a user opens the program? I hope that makes sense.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Edu-IT View Post
    I'm going to be assigning the software to computers. Will this mean that the software is installed once and that's it or will it install each time a user opens the program?
    Thankfully the former. You'll see it installing it before the logon prompt appears when the machine next boots after you set up the GPO (in the same box where it says "applying security settings" or "preparing network connection" etc.)

Once you've set up the software in the GPO, open up the settings and have a poke around - there's not much to see. Possibly the most significant setting is the one about removing the software when the PC moves out of the "scope of management", ie. out of an OU with that policy on.

You might want to think about using DFS to store the MSIs on the network. If you don't and you decide to change where they're stored (i.e. a different UNC path), the software will be reinstalled on all machines.

Obviously make sure there are sufficient read permissions on the share with the MSIs in.

Can't think of any more pitfalls.. like you say it's pretty easy

3. Thanks to sahmeepee from:

Edu-IT (1st February 2008)

Thank Post