+ Post New Thread
How do you do....it? Thread, Anyone run a coding club? What do you do? in Technical; As I think I've said before I'm doing an open degree in computer science with the aim of teaching at ...

Thank Post

Anyone run a coding club? What do you do?

As I think I've said before I'm doing an open degree in computer science with the aim of teaching at some stage, I already do some classroom work and I am seriously considering starting a coding/computer science club. Since we will be going to the new spec GCSE in 18 months and doing python I am looking at doing something like a Python club and if things go well perhaps making it broader with some Pis and various sensors etc... (If the school will buy them.... (And yes, I know I said I didn't see the point in RPIs but I'm willing to try them)) Anyway...

I'm still a beginner in Python but have a background in PHP and general web development and obviously computers/computer science. But what do I do in the club to make it fun for the kids? What do other people do?

Ideally I'd like a mix of kids, some with a little programming experience and others, probably the majority, with none at all and I need to get all these kids hooked from day one. I've ordered myself a PiLite which is an LED matrix board, 126 LEDs with built in driver specially designed to work with the Pi and a PC over usb/serial, they would be great but I only have one! Pygame looks promising.

Anything I've missed here? I don't want it to be just another boring lesson, I want to encourage the kids to work on their own projects. Once they've got the basics of Python down I'd love for them to come in one evening and show me some amazing project they've come up with.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,168 Times in 797 Posts
    I'm looking to start a coding club after half term too.

As a lot of our kids have not done any programming yet, I'll be starting them off in Scratch: Scratch - Imagine, Program, Share