+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
How do you do....it? Thread, How does a server rebuild itself when a hard drive fails and is replaced? in Technical; Firstly, apologies if I've got the wrong section. I look after the ICT needs of a middle school and recently, ...

Thank Post

How does a server rebuild itself when a hard drive fails and is replaced?

Firstly, apologies if I've got the wrong section. I look after the ICT needs of a middle school and recently, 1 of the hard drives on their DC failed and when I was reporting it to Dell Tech Support they noticed 3 more drives failing - but not dead (replacement drives have been ordered and are on their way). I am told that all I need to do is simply plug the new HDDs (in a certain order) into the slots where the faulty ones come out and the disks/drives will automatically rebuild. What I want to know, is how does the server know what to write to those disks? I am a relative newbie to the world of ICT Technicians so I am still learning the theory behind RAID configurations and different types of volumes i.e. striped, spanned and mirrored etc.
    If you need the info to help explain it to me, they are rocking 8 x 500GB HDDS. The first 2 are running the OS and are RAID-1 (these 2 are part of the 4 'failed drives') and the other 6 are on RAID-6 with two of those 'failing'. Also the server is running 2008R2.
    Help me understand so I don't stress as much as I did when the techie told me I had 4 failed drives on my server :P

**Needless to say I have made a full backup of their system before I replace any HDDs on the server**

Thank Post
    how dosent really matter but the raid controller knows thats its a new drive inserted and copies the data to it the the drive in that slot should contain. Id guess that you need to first replace the dead one let it FINISH rebuilding then one by one replace the iffy ones

Thank Post