+ Post New Thread
How do you do....it? Thread, Charity School - New Network? in Technical; I've recently taken over management of a charity funded private school (Primary and Secondary - 1 form entry) in East ...
    Thank Post

Charity School - New Network?

I've recently taken over management of a charity funded private school (Primary and Secondary - 1 form entry) in East London. Completely voluntary work, long hours (in addition to my paid job!) and late nights, but there is a satisfying feeling about doing something for the community. Anyway, that aside, as soon as the teachers learnt I am a technician at a state school, the IT problems came bombarding in.

The entire network has been put together on the tightest budget possible. Credit to the guy who has put it together he's done a decent job for what very, very limited resources he had. Alas though, the network is in bad shape. It's made up of a majority of thin client machines running NComputing hardware/software. There are 5 reasonably powerful "servers". That is desktop PCs with Core i5 CPUs and ranging from 20GB - 32GB of RAM. These are all running Windows 7 Pro with the NComputing host software that control the thin clients in the school. There is also another "server" - a lower spec machine running ESXi that hosts a DC, File Server and Exchange Server. All Windows Server 2003 - Exchange, I believe is 2003.

I'll be brutally honest, I hate thin clients. Mainly for the fact that I don't know the architecture too well, but for the fact that in this case it just doesn't work. YouTube is the main complaint from the teachers, it is completely unwatchable. The display stutters similar to a PC without the correct graphics drivers installed. (i.e. Redrawing the entire display with every frame.)

The AD and File Server are a mess. The teachers have accounts, but none of the students have accounts! They all share 1 account and have free reign to each others' files.