+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Macbooks -wireless and media studies in Technical; Evening all I have no experience of Macs, but will have to gain some pretty soon, but our media studies ...

Thank Post

Macbooks -wireless and media studies

Evening all
    I have no experience of Macs, but will have to gain some pretty soon, but our media studies teachers are asking whether we can purchase Macbooks for use wirelessly in our new 6F centre. Whilst I have no objections, yet! will the likes of adobe premiere, Photoshop elements, photo shop and other media software run ok on Macbooks over a wireless network?
    Any one have experience of this type of setup?

Cheers
    Dave

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Re: Macbooks -wireless and media studies

Media-intensive software will not work reliably, if it all, over a wireless network if users' work is stored centrally.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 978 Posts

Id agree with webman and say for multimedia purposes normal wired Ethernet would be better

Thank Post

Don't fear the coming of the MacBooks - they're great machines apart from a few annoying niggles.

One of my schools got some, and within 3 months, I had bought one for myself! They really cool.

Just be aware that they don't stay looking 'Apple-cool' for long once kids get their hands on them, ours are only about 6 months old, but they're scratched and marked to hell. And we've had bad problems with batteries going kaput on us, but Apple released an update just last week which is meant to deal with that issue. Make sure they're 100% updated before they're put into service!

A final suggestion is to use the option in Power Settings to make them shut down at some time each night - that stops the problem of them getting left on sleep and completely draining the batteries to the extent that they don't charge anymore!

Thank Post

Also if the batteries drain completely you lose the date and time as they have no internal batteries!