+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Storage Advice in Technical; Hi all! Not sure if this was the right place, so feel free to move it mods if it isnt! ...
    Thank Post

Storage Advice

Hi all!

Not sure if this was the right place, so feel free to move it mods if it isnt!

I am currently racking my brains trying to find a solution to our current storage problem accross the entire server system here, so I'm looking for some guidance/help

Currently all servers run their own storage locally but they are all hitting capacity. Rather than just buying bigger drives for them I want to set the school with something they can grow with for the next 5 or so years.
    I have been speaking to a supplier and he has so far recommended a HP P2000 SAS SAN with 12 600GB SAS drives in it. Whilst this seems to cover what I am after I have no experience of either SAN's or more specifically that bit of kit.

Attached is a word doc giving a rundown of what we have here and an idea of what we want to do (I'm probably not making much sense in this post!) Any ideas/advice/comments are most welcome, especially from people who have already put in something similar.

Many thanks!
    S
    Attached Files Attached Files

Thank Post
    12 600GB SAS drives? If you *need* the performance, I'd be amazed.

In your spec : "We are looking for a storage solution that can integrate with all of the above systems in a simple, easy to manage way. The system needs to have at least a basic level of fault tolerance as well as the ability to grow to significant size through upgrades/add-ons etc."

So it depends what you mean by "basic level of fault tolerance". I'd presume RAID, redundant power supplies and dual (or more) GB Nic?