+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Hardware Thread, SAN Solution in Technical; I'm pretty new to all this, so I'd like some advice on SANs. We are debating whether to implement a ...

Thank Post

SAN Solution

I'm pretty new to all this, so I'd like some advice on SANs. We are debating whether to implement a SAN into our network. W have several file servers across the site, which are nearly full of data. We'd like a central storage solution, so we can use our servers just for applications, rather than that and file shares.

All of our network equipment is HP, provided by Zentek, and HP do SAN solutions, so they're the ones that are drawing our eyes at the moment. However, I don't know of any decent other solutions from other companies.

Ideally, we'd like the chassis and a customisable amount of hard drives. I've noticed HP's solutions are including the drives as well as the chassis. Such as 7TB over 42 drives. What if we don't want to use all the 42 drives? We don't want to pay for them all. Having less, a more tailored solution, would allow for scalability in the future.

I don't know much about SAN connectivity, from the little I've researched, a full Fibre connection would be best for us I think.

How equipment would we need to purchase as well as the actual SAN to get it up and running? Or is it simply a case of buying a SAN, buying and fitting a fibre connection to the nominated server and that's it for the hardware?

I've probably forgot some other questions I had, so I may come back with random questions. I have read some of the other relevant threads made about SANs in the past year, but with my lack of knowledge on the subject, I'm not really understanding it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,717 Times in 2,302 Posts
    Blog Entries
    SANs can be tricky but are reasonably simple if you break the problem down.