+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Hardware Thread, Stone NT 200 problems in Technical; I m starting to get to the end of my tether with these! About 7 or 8 of these have ...

Thank Post

Stone NT 200 problems

I m starting to get to the end of my tether with these!

About 7 or 8 of these have been out of action for 3 months and Stone dont know what the proiblem is they randoly start beeping then turn themslef off. Turn back on then seems ok for abit, anyone else had problems with Stone nt200?

TheLibrarian
    I've no experience with these laptops, but I'd suggest that you check if they are overheating.

Thank Post
    I think they are but its hard to replicate just at random

TheLibrarian
    In which case get some stress testing software out and push the processor(s) - you'll know for sure soon enough.

As a stress test you could try calculating Pi PiFast : the fastest program to compute pi.

It could be worth getting some motherboard monitoring software too http://majorgeeks.com/Motherboard_Monitor_d311.html

5. Thanks to TheLibrarian from:

irsprint84 (26th January 2011)

Thank Post
    Yes, I've had exactly the same problem with the only one of these I brought for a member of staff. I could never replecate the error in testing, so I was skeptical about whether the user was using the laptop on their lap or something and blocking the vents etc. Stone replaced the main board for me, but apparently the laptop was still experiencing the problem, so they are now sending me a new unit.

I'm concerned to hear you've been having the same issues thou, I just hope that the replacement they send doesn't suffer from the same. I suggest contacting Adam Jones who is the UK schools manager, very helpful guy and I'm sure he'll do his best to get the issues resolved for you. PM me if you'd like his direct dial, as I don't really want to post that on a public forum.