+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Looking for a new router. in Technical; I'm currently using a Billion BiPAC 7300G for my networking at home, I've been using it for about 3 years ...

Thank Post

Looking for a new router.

I'm currently using a Billion BiPAC 7300G for my networking at home, I've been using it for about 3 years and I'm about to updrade my general computer and media servers WiFi card to a PCI-E ASUS PCE-N13.

I'm looking at a ASUS RT-N16 because of the Wireless N, Printer sharing, FTP and all the additional features. The only thing is that my sisters laptops are all Wireless b/g and the PS3 doesn't support Wireless N and I can't seem to find out if the ASUS RT-N16 is b/g/n compatible. If I replace my current router with the ASUS RT-N16 can I use the Billion BiPAC 7300G as an extender/repeater?

I am 16 years old and in a month and a half I will be starting an I.T. traineeship so before I start I want to get some more experience with networking, I do have some knowledge in the subject and I have worked doing some networking before. Would this router be good for mucking around with and gaining experience as well as setting up a FTP server and doing some networking with Windows Server 2000 R2?

Thank Post
    Those devices that are only b/g will use it, the router supports all three standards at once. So no problem there. Remember that the router in question is probably a home user router, you won't find this kind of equipment in a business environment, unless it's just a normal office, then sure, you can learn with that.

Regarding Windows server 2008 r2, you can learn a lot by yourself.... When it comes to FTP servers, there are many different solutions... there is the standard MS FTP Server, and of course many third party ones... Serv-U is an example....I think you are best of learning this on location.

Thank Post