+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hardware Thread, setting up RAID on DELL PowerEdge T610 in Technical; Hello all, I have just taken on a school that the last techie ordered a Dell PowerEdge T610 with 5 ...
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,009
    Thank Post
    81
    Thanked 184 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    68

    setting up RAID on DELL PowerEdge T610

    Hello all,

    I have just taken on a school that the last techie ordered a Dell PowerEdge T610 with 5 HDD and is still boxed. I have only setup HP servers before and wanted some help / advice with setting up the RAID in RAID 5 with 1 HDD as a hot swap.

    The manual says to use the unified server config (F10) to setup RAID and the online manual says to use Expandable RAID Controller (ctrl-R).

    Also any other advice on settings prior to installing the OS would be a help.

    Thanks for taking the time to help.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,009
    Thank Post
    81
    Thanked 184 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    68
    Just booted up the server and found RAID setup in unified server config (F10). Job done.

  3. #3
    pagelad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    181
    Thank Post
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    14
    All Dell servers come with an installation CD

    Pop it in and boot up your server, it will then guide you through setting up the raid, ask you what os you want and adds all the drivers during the installation for whatever youve chosen

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,009
    Thank Post
    81
    Thanked 184 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    68
    After playing around all the features you mention are part of the F10 at boot options and although lots of different operating systems are listed to install it doesn't list Server 2003 std only 2003 R2. Do you think I will be ok installing 2003 std using the R2 option as they are basically the same thing, and before anyone says upgrade to 2008, this is not an option as the school have spent way over their IT budget already for the following year (primary school).

  5. #5

    plexer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Norfolk
    Posts
    13,272
    Thank Post
    614
    Thanked 1,567 Times in 1,407 Posts
    Rep Power
    412
    You don't need the cd for the newer servers as they set up a virtual usb drive for installation of raid drivers during windows setup.

    Yes you will be fine choosing 2003 R2 and then installing sing std media.

    Ben

SHARE:
+ Post New Thread

Similar Threads

  1. [Sold/Traded] Dell Poweredge T105
    By FN-GM in forum Classified Adverts
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th April 2010, 11:26 PM
  2. [For Sale] Dell Poweredge 1600SC
    By andyturpie in forum Classified Adverts
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th October 2009, 10:54 AM
  3. Dell Poweredge Raid setup question
    By ct1 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th December 2008, 09:42 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th November 2008, 02:38 PM
  5. Dell Poweredge 1800
    By ahuxham in forum Windows
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd September 2008, 09:30 PM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •