+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Hardware Thread, Laptop Manufacturer Choice in Technical; In the past I've always purchased Toshiba laptops. I'm really happy with the support we get from XMA regarding warranty ...
    Thank Post

Laptop Manufacturer Choice

In the past I've always purchased Toshiba laptops. I'm really happy with the support we get from XMA regarding warranty repairs, pricing etc. I'm more annoyed at Toshiba who have ridiculously short product-life (I just cannot order identical model if the order is more than 3 months apart) and the build quality of the laptops certainly seems to be going down with recent models.

I'm looking at other manufacturers and was wondering what EduGeekers' thoughts were on the matter. I've had quotes for HP and Dell laptops. I've always had good support from Dell on our servers, I've had no experience with HP. I also see Lenovo mentioned on the board, what are there benefits over the other manufacturers? These are laptops for teachers and so, in theory(!), don't need to be student proof (though as we have had a laptop run-over here in the recent past, perhaps the students would take better care of them...)

Thanks as always

Thank Post
    All our staff laptops (& most student ones too) are DELL, approx 300 in total. We tend to buy DELL Latitude systems with 3 year onsite NBD warranty.

DELL support for their 'business' class kit (ie Latitude) is generally very good; we have to jump through hoops when reporting a problem... is it plugged in, switched on, have you tried this/that/other but once you convince them it's broken they send an engineer out next day to fix. Occasionally for something like a duff HDD they will just send the parts.

Thank Post
    Woo a chance to express my opinion

I'll echo that Dell laptops are excellent value for money and are usually pretty sturdy too.