+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Hp C3000 blade in Technical; Hi, I am new on here so please be kind to me. I have just started a job and been ...

Thank Post

Hp C3000 blade

Hi, I am new on here so please be kind to me.

I have just started a job and been given the task of setting up a new HP C3000 blade with 8 blades. I have never seen one of these before and I have looked at the HP documentation on how to set it up but I'm none the wiser. Could any of you kind people possibly help me out.

I have a couple of questions which I hope could be answered:

1, What do I do first?
    2, Do I install all of the ICE software on a blade/all of them or on a separate server in the rack and then connect?
    3, Is there an order for loading operating system, ice, hp software, controller etc

I really need an idiots guide to setting one up as I've never done it before.

Many thanks

Lucy

Thank Post
    Wow - talk about being thrown in at the deep end Lucy!

Sorry - no blades here so cannot be of any help!

Butuz

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,051 Times in 920 Posts
    You need to use the HP SmartStart software that will have been in the box with the Blade Chasis for a start. You boot the Blade from that CD and it talks you through the install, you give it your Server CD and some details and it does all the work for you, puts Windows on it and then all the HP tools and utilities as well and then leaves you ready to go

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by lucy View Post
    I have just started a job and been given the task of setting up a new HP C3000 blade with 8 blades.
    Wish someone would give me 8 blades to setup

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by matt40k View Post
    Wish someone would give me 8 blades to setup
    Even if you have to give them back afterwards.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,051 Times in 920 Posts
    Blades are good fun I miss my blade centre

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by K.C.Leblanc View Post