+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Hardware Thread, Error no keyboard present press F1 to comtinue in Technical; We are having a certain set of machines with the same motherboard regualry coming up with the: Error no keyboard ...
  1. #1
    lsheldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bradford
    Posts
    42
    Thank Post
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Error no keyboard present press F1 to comtinue

    We are having a certain set of machines with the same motherboard regualry
    coming up with the:
    Error no keyboard present press F1 to continue

    If you switch the machines off from the power on the wall wait 5 seconds and switch back on they usally work

    They are a mixture of PS/2 and USB keyboards

    I wondered if anybody can help me resolve this issue / mabie a setting on the BIOS etc as it is causing alto of people to report fault's and taking up alot of our time.

  2. #2

    Domino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bromley
    Posts
    4,020
    Thank Post
    212
    Thanked 1,164 Times in 758 Posts
    Blog Entries
    4
    Rep Power
    481
    What machines are they?

    I assume you've tried upgrading the BIOS, etc?

  3. #3
    PeterW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    745
    Thank Post
    42
    Thanked 65 Times in 60 Posts
    Rep Power
    31
    Are there any BIOS updates available for the systems/mainboards?
    Have they only just started doing this, are they recent machines or older ones?

  4. #4
    lsheldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bradford
    Posts
    42
    Thank Post
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Motherboards are ASUS K8V-X SE

    I have tried upgrading still having issues, but the ASUS website is not the best it lists 12 updates, i am presuming that the latest includes all, none of the descriptions seem to match my errors though.

    http://support.asus.com/download/dow...Language=en-us

    Another issue would be deploying the BIOS upgrade across apx 150/200 machines with the / simaler BIOS

    see my post
    RIS/WDS Tools Maintenance And Troubleshooting Features

    Thank you

  5. #5

    mac_shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    9,218
    Thank Post
    2,769
    Thanked 935 Times in 875 Posts
    Rep Power
    343
    if you reset the bios to its defaults or manufacturer defaults does that help at all ?

    The read me file should explain whats included in the update - generally the latest one tends to have all of them afaik ( could be wrong )

  6. #6
    lsheldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bradford
    Posts
    42
    Thank Post
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reset the BIOS to no avail these errors still randomly apear.

  7. #7

    RabbieBurns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    5,476
    Thank Post
    1,305
    Thanked 469 Times in 306 Posts
    Blog Entries
    6
    Rep Power
    198
    Might take a while, but you could set the "Halt on" setting to "No errors" i think its called. By default, its set to Halt on keyboard error in most bios

  8. #8
    lsheldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bradford
    Posts
    42
    Thank Post
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thats a good idea but the only problem i have then is when we F12 for ris this would not work on the errored computers.

  9. #9
    PeterW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    745
    Thank Post
    42
    Thanked 65 Times in 60 Posts
    Rep Power
    31
    You could try disabling this option in the BIOS
    Wait For 'F1' If Error
    Are they just outside of warranty?

    EDIT:
    F12 for ris this would not work on the errored computers.
    Ahh thats not good then
    Last edited by PeterW; 23rd February 2009 at 03:41 PM.

  10. #10
    lsheldon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bradford
    Posts
    42
    Thank Post
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    They are outside of warranty, they are the worst motherboards i have had

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thank Post
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Hello

    Quote Originally Posted by RabbieBurns View Post
    Might take a while, but you could set the "Halt on" setting to "No errors" i think its called. By default, its set to Halt on keyboard error in most bios
    Hello...Thanks a lot dude...thats works...!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Incredible!!!!!!

SHARE:
+ Post New Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Keyboard Error
    By steve_nfi in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th June 2008, 05:22 PM
  2. evernote.com invites hot of the press
    By russdev in forum General Chat
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 27th May 2008, 08:23 PM
  3. EduGeek Press Release
    By ZeroHour in forum General EduGeek News/Announcements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st April 2008, 10:56 PM
  4. ICT Technicians in the press
    By StewartKnight in forum General Chat
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 1st February 2007, 10:34 AM
  5. EduGeek.net BETT 2007 Press Release - Draft 3
    By GrumbleDook in forum BETT 2014
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th January 2007, 11:23 PM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •