+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hardware Thread, Acer Power F6 - WOL in Technical; Hi all, I've got a lot of Acer Power F6s here, kindly provided by my predecessor. It doesn't appear they ...
  1. #1
    jonathanhaddock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Barton Court Grammar, Canterbury
    Posts
    58
    Thank Post
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    16

    Acer Power F6 - WOL

    Hi all,

    I've got a lot of Acer Power F6s here, kindly provided by my predecessor. It doesn't appear they have Wake on LAN (WOL) so I'm asking if anybody has the same units and has managed to get them to wake with the "magic packet".

    In the BIOS (AMI) I've gone to power management setup but the only option relating to this is resume on LAN - I've tried with this but the WOL packet just won't wake it up.

    Acer Tech support tell me these units do support it but I don't believe them. Anybody managed to make it work?

    Thanks in advance,
    Jonathan

  2. #2

    SYNACK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11,271
    Thank Post
    884
    Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,322 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11
    Rep Power
    785
    Have you looked in the device properties of the nic in Windows under the advanced tab. I have encountered several types of machines where wol is configured from there rather than the bios.

  3. #3
    acer-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    138
    Thank Post
    31
    Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by jonathanhaddock View Post
    Hi all,

    I've got a lot of Acer Power F6s here, kindly provided by my predecessor. It doesn't appear they have Wake on LAN (WOL) so I'm asking if anybody has the same units and has managed to get them to wake with the "magic packet".

    In the BIOS (AMI) I've gone to power management setup but the only option relating to this is resume on LAN - I've tried with this but the WOL packet just won't wake it up.

    Acer Tech support tell me these units do support it but I don't believe them. Anybody managed to make it work?

    Thanks in advance,
    Jonathan
    Can you give me some time to look into this the F6 is quite an old PC and I will need to do some digging for you.

  4. #4
    Cools's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Posts
    498
    Thank Post
    24
    Thanked 62 Times in 57 Posts
    Rep Power
    26
    i have Acer M8 wanto do that same..
    but i cant find any settings...

  5. #5
    Cools's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Posts
    498
    Thank Post
    24
    Thanked 62 Times in 57 Posts
    Rep Power
    26
    o Yes.. Got it working now..
    for M8's..

    open drive manager and goto ya network card like SYNACK said..
    Advanced > enable WOL
    and set wake up Capabilities to both ..

    than go to Power management TAB and untick "Allow the computer to turn off device to save power"

    than ok it all ..


    Go to ya Bios and enable your WOL setting in there (or what ever you can find) and hay it works..

  6. #6
    jonathanhaddock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Barton Court Grammar, Canterbury
    Posts
    58
    Thank Post
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    16

    Smile WOL Working on Acer Power F6s

    Hi,

    Thanks to Cools' post I've managed to get the WOL functionality working on our Acer Power F6s. I've placed instructions below but I also plan on writing a more graphical helpsheet for this which I'll host on my site when I get a chance.

    Instructions
    (Tested with Windows XP and the Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E gigabit adapter)

    * Open computer management (right click my computer and click manage or Start > Run > compmgmt.msc > OK
    * Open Device manager
    * Expand Network adapters
    * Right click the Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E gigabit ethernet controller and click Properties
    * Click the Advanced tab
    * Make the following changes in the list:
    - Wake up capabilities - set this to magic packet
    - Wake up from shutdown - set this to on
    * Click the Power Management tab
    * Untick all boxes on that tab so the network card is not turned off.
    * OK all dialog boxes to save.

    The network card will reset so there will be a brief interruption to network connectivity.

    On my setup I didn't need to enter the BIOS to adjust anything.

    Then, record your MAC addresses and away you go

    Thanks for all the help!



SHARE:
+ Post New Thread

Similar Threads

  1. WOL Kettle
    By GWALT in forum General Chat
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 15th December 2013, 10:35 AM
  2. WOL Whole Domain
    By RobFuller in forum Windows
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th June 2010, 11:25 AM
  3. Scheduled WOL
    By m1ddy in forum Windows
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11th November 2008, 10:24 AM
  4. Acer Laptop strange power problems!
    By maniac in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th January 2008, 02:24 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th May 2007, 11:48 AM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •