+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Dell Poweredge Raid setup question in Technical; Hi Guys Got a Dell Poweredge 2900 with Perc 5/i integrated card + Perc 5/e external Raid card. Need to ...
    ct1

Thank Post

Dell Poweredge Raid setup question

Hi Guys
    Got a Dell Poweredge 2900 with Perc 5/i integrated card + Perc 5/e external Raid card.
    Need to set up 5 x 500gb drives, ideally 2xdrives mirrored (on virtual drive) 2xdrives mirrored(another virtual drive) & 1 global or dedicated hotspare.
    On boot up I have gone into raid controller (i guess this is the best way to set up), and gone into controller 0(prec5/i), it sees all the drives and I managed to set up one virtual drive + 1 globel hotspare, but I can not work out how to set up the last two drives into another virtual drive? Can I achieve this on one controller, or do I need one controller per pyhisical drive?

Im new to the Raid systems but keen to learn.

Thanks

Mark

Thank Post

RAID

Hi Mark,

you definitely can setup RAID with 2 arrays (2 mirrors) and a hot spare for both arrays on the internal controller. You need to assign the disks to separate arrays on the config screen, and then you will have the option of assigning a online spare to different arrays, as long as you leave that 5th disk out of the previous 2 arrays.

I think possibly you are getting muddled with the terminolgy which is easy because it can be confusing. You need to set up 2 hardware level arrays, array A which will have the first 2 physical disks, then create the logical disk space on that array which will maximum be the size of 1 disk in that array if you assign that array as RAID 1 mirror. Then do the same for the second array, and create the logical drive , same as before. Then assign the spare to each array.