+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Hardware Thread, Server tape drive probs in Technical; Ok, dont laugh. I'm a technician but i dont have a fat lot to do with the servers...they (and NM) ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Unhappy Server tape drive probs

Ok, dont laugh. I'm a technician but i dont have a fat lot to do with the servers...they (and NM) make me nervous.

Network Manager is away at moment. I've been left in charge of usual duties such as changing backup tapes and checking backup logs. Went in after Bank Holidays and a day off to find that the SIMS server hasn't backed up for at least a week with the log blaming a hardware or media fault. On the front of the drive all 3 lights are flashing green.
    We are an RM school. Opened a call with RM, they agreed it was hardware problem, wanted me to install Sony Tape Tool on server which would require a reboot, if i dont do that then no one will come out.

So, what do i do?

Install the tool and get RM to send a guy out. I'm guessing installing a bit of software on the server is like any other computer and a reboot is fine because it's not a forest or domain server. Seriously, i dont touch these things. You probably cant see what the problem is.

-or-

Dont touch. Keep everything crossed and wait until NM gets back on Friday which will mean 2 weeks of no backup?!? And then be told i should have called RM.

Grrrr.....don't laugh!!

Thank Post
    I'd go for the former option only if you're confident.

Have a nosy here and see how you feel about it...

The alternative is that if you have a good chunk of space left on the server, we could set up a disk backup ... just to buy some time?

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Well i just found some info on the RM site. To run the tape test you need a tape that can be overwritten, well im buggered then cus i dont know what i can use.