Site Maintenance this evening The site will be offline for hosting changes. Time TBC

+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Universal access to computers in Technical; Our head has a vision for universal access for our Year 12/13's to computers around the school and in lessons. ...
    zag
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Students own laptops? Universal access

Our head has a vision for universal access for our Year 12/13's to computers around the school and in lessons.

He would like to see all A-Level students have their own laptop/PDA and with the price of these coming down he is asking me to investigate it.

Has anyone actually done this in a school? It seems a little premature to me but I if someone has actually tried this I would be very interested in their experience. Seems like a logistical and security nightmare to me but I'm just a cynical network manager

Thank Post
    You will find the universal access requirement is increasingly becoming part of the BSF strategy being pursued by a number of LAs. It remains to be seen what technology will be available to make this happen, my money is on a thin-client based solution, perhaps using something like an Asus Eee PC linked to a server farm. I cannot see it happening using full-function laptops, at least not at my school/LA on the grounds of cost & support if nothing else.

I agree with you that the security & logistics of deploying and managing this sort of environment will be challenging!

Thank Post

What about using VMs?

Perhaps you can use VM's? Something like VMwares ACE might be worth while. That way you can have your PC with your network settings..Secure as you want, and the student can do what they like on their own laptop.....

We may be going down this path in the future....

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,258 Times in 789 Posts
    Blog Entries
    what about a NAC (network access control) box?

I believe a few people on here use them to great effect (I think geoff uses packetfence....maybe?)