+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Helppp .....! Can't seem to configure raid on HP Proliant ML370 in Technical; I am having anightmare tryign to get theis server to boot. The raid config has been messed up and needs ...
    Thank Post

Helppp .....! Can't seem to configure raid on HP Proliant ML370

I am having anightmare tryign to get theis server to boot. The raid config has been messed up and needs to be reconfigured. It has 3 72gb drivers in the server. I have the HP SmartCd but i can't get it to the stage where it boots form the cd. I know its a raid config issue becasue if i unlpug the raid card it will boot to cd no problem but the cd complains there is no boot drive detected.

I have tried to reset the SCSI config but obviously wrong....!

I am at a loss as i have never done ths before. When teh server boots the first option is to configure the 'Lights out option' which i know is nothing to do with the raid, then the next option is the SCSI card config. Now, this i were i am lost as i have no raid experience. Can some one hel me with this. Th eoptions in th econfig are to set the ID, then Rreset the SCSi then enable or disable. The server detects two (or is it dual) SCSI channels and gives you options to configure both.

Hope this makes sense???

Thank Post
    You need to get into the RAID or SCSI BIOS on boot. Just watch the screen to know what buttons to press to get into it.

Thank Post
    You need to get into the RAID or SCSI BIOS on boot.
    I can do this but i don't know what to do when i am in here.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,322 Posts
    Blog Entries
    so long as you have no data on the drives once you get into the scsi bios area you just want to delete any existing arrays so that the system will boot the smartstart cd properly. you should then be able to configure it using the gui.

Thank Post
    Its not a smart array 532 is it?

Thank Post
    I have no idea, like i said Raid is not my forte

Thank Post