+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, The Asus EEE for kids in Technical; Afternoon all, Before I get on to the post subject, I would just like to introduce myself. I am a ...

Thank Post

The Asus EEE for kids

Afternoon all,

Before I get on to the post subject, I would just like to introduce myself. I am a technician in a large secondary school in Hampshire. We have around 1300 students and 130 staff (ish).

I was at BETT last week and the EEE caught my eye. The small design was facinating and they seemed very robust, which I am sure you are all aware is quite handy in a school environment (we had a kid chuck a laptop at another student a few weeks a go, little darlings).

I have a few questions I need answered.

First of all, does anyone know when the new models are being released, specifically with XP pre installed and the 8GB solid state + larger screens. I know there are already 8GB versions about but I seem to be unable to find any.

Secondly, has anyone built a RIS image to work with the hardware? Does the network card support PXE? And can we use our existing schools agreement to deploy the XP to quite a few EEE's?

I have read it is much better to stick with the original linux distro that comes with it, which makes sense. For me, I would be quite happy to do this. This would cause some concerns with students using them tho. Obviosuly, atm they have their access severly limited via group policies etc. This will not work with linux and for example I do not want them to be able to get to the console/shell !! Even if we solve this problem, is it possible for them to get their home drive mapped when they login the way it is done at the moment via policies, depsite being in a linux environment?

One more thing, bare with me Does anyone know any companies that would be willing to send me a free 4G/4G Surf so I can trial it / show the people whose responibility it is to look after our budget?

Additional Info

2 x DCs running 2K3
    1 x ISA 2K3
    1 x Exchange 2K3