+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Hardware Thread, IWB Interoperability in Technical; I'm not a whiteboard expert but am interested in this issue from the interoperability and SALTIS perspective - discussion of ...
    Thank Post

Re: Presenta Whiteboards

I'm not a whiteboard expert but am interested in this issue from the interoperability and SALTIS perspective - discussion of SALTIS is in a seperate thread.

I understand from Margaret Allen on the NAACE list that Promethean Flipchart will now work on anyone's board - but I understand from steve that this does not apply to ActivStudio (presumably this is a larger toolbox than Flipchart alone?)

There are concerns around this issue, particularly in the light of Becta's common file format initiative and whether this will address the issues of whiteboard interoperability - if issues there are.

It seems to me, prima facie, to be anti-competitive that any software should insist on any hardware being present, or vice-versa (freely available drivers excepted). I think there are particular concerns if, having a particular software program is driving you down the route of installing a particular voting system as well as a particular whiteboard.

Do people generally see this as a problem and would they agree that whiteboards, voting systems and software should be completely decoupled, so that any will work with any other?

Crispin.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Re: Presenta Whiteboards

I am in two minds about this software I can understand why active, smart go down route they do not totally out of this world for a ie board maker to have software that works only with there board.

I do like the fact that smart software can install anywhere except with another companies board.