+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Zoostorm Computers & SSD Hard Drives in Technical; Hi All, Just wanting a bit of advice on the following... We are looking to purchase new computers this year ...

Thank Post

Zoostorm Computers & SSD Hard Drives

Hi All,

Just wanting a bit of advice on the following...

We are looking to purchase new computers this year for one of our ICT suites. I have found Zoostorm to be recommended and they appear to be reviewed well on some retail outlet stores. In comparison there products are considerably cheaper than alternative computing retailers.

I have looked at the following model:

Zoostorm SFF desktop, i5-3340 3.1GHz, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 320GB Hard disk drive, no operating system, 1 year return to base warranty.

There is the potential to upgrade the 320GB sata hard disk drive to an 128gb solid state drive for 37.60 per pc.

I have very little experience with SSD and as such I am wondering whether the performance increase we would see is worth spending the extra money?

We are an RM network, where most users save work to their network share and not the physical drive in the machine itself, meaning that the actual physical hard drive is only used to store the operating system and additional applications.

Thanks in advance,

:-)

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,443 Times in 1,891 Posts
    Blog Entries
    In one word - yes.

Massive performance difference with SSD compared to HDD. Imaging, for example, drops in time dramatically (using SCCM here, the difference is from half an hour down to 10 minutes, for example).

However, you *really* want to check what make and model of SSD it is to make sure its not a poor quality one.

I'd also recommend speaking to someone like @VeryPC to see if they can do you a better deal.

3. 3 Thanks to localzuk:

BFCIT (24th March 2014), VeryPC_Colin_M (13th March 2014), VeryPC_Tom_B (13th March 2014)

Thank Post
    Blog Entries