+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Laptop Battery Problem in Technical; Hi I work in a school and a teacher reported her laptop was not switching on, when i went and ...

Thank Post

Laptop Battery Problem

Hi

I work in a school and a teacher reported her laptop was not switching on, when i went and look at it the battery had been removed, i put the battery back in and put the power supply in and the power light and battery light come on but it does not seem to be coming on. i tried putting another battery to see if it was the battery but i get the same problem. could some one help.

Hope i give enough info.

Thank Post
    Try holding down the power button and you may hear the drive power down. Give it a couple of seconds and then try powering up.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,568 Times in 1,250 Posts
    Are you certain when plugging in the mains that it's charging the battery? There could be a problem and the battery no longer has any charge. This is a fairly common fault with notebooks after a number of years.

Thank Post
    It never come on so i can hear it go off or come on,

I am not certain it is charging, all i see is the lights on the front when plugged in, but i have tried another battery and it does the same.

Thank Post
    Any lights change after pressing the power button ? If the battery was out when you arrived at the laptop, perhaps it has had a fall or impact ? Check for loose RAM maybe ?

Thank Post
    I had something similar this morning. The battery indicator was on but no drive activity and a blank screen. Shutting down with a long press on the on off button cured it. It has to be worth a try at least?

Thank Post
    One thing that has worked for me in the past is to take out the battery, unplug the charger/mains unit and hold the power button down for about 30 seconds, then re-assemble and try to turn the laptop on again.