+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hardware Thread, Ground Loop ( Lenovo T430 + 23 inch Lenovo Screen connected via VGA ) in Technical; In the roll out phase of swapping users from desktops to laptops + one external screen as per the title, ...
  1. #1

    mac_shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    9,729
    Thank Post
    3,252
    Thanked 1,049 Times in 971 Posts
    Rep Power
    364

    Ground Loop ( Lenovo T430 + 23 inch Lenovo Screen connected via VGA )

    In the roll out phase of swapping users from desktops to laptops + one external screen as per the title, I think I haven narrowed the issue down to a ground loop ( however cutting or disconnecting the earth wire from one of the mains plugs for either the monitor or laptop is not going to happen due to obvious health and safety reasons.

    Linky here - External monitor flicker, laptop ground loop problem solved | Countdown to critical mass mrgnome.wordpress.com


    Found this as well : http://voices.yahoo.com/rid-yourself...92.html?cat=15

    Although purchasing at least a few hundred universal ac adaptors is going to be out of the question and as above getting an adaptor or removing the earth / ground wire is not an option either.

    Basically it is causing issues on the external monitor when you have the laptop plugged in via mains ( using the original official laptop mains power supply / charger )

    The only other suggestion I have seen and reading on forums has not helped is to use or try a thicker shielded vga cable ( the 23" monitors we are using also have HDMI and mini display port or display port connectors as well as vga )

    I think we are ordering in a few cables to try the display port to hdmi and see if that helps with the ground loop issue which is causing the shimmering / refresh rate issue

    Just wanted to know if there was anything I could get or do to sort out the ground loop issue ( I think there was a post on edugeek a year or two ago ref ground loop but effecting audio not video , where as for us it is effecting the video output on the external monitor )

    Any idea on what was used to get rid of the ground loop issue for the audio ? Just wondering if a similar device could help us out ref the external display whilst said laptop is connected via mains.
    @Arthur, @Millgate or anyone else ?

    Monitor Model : lt2223pwc - user guide --> http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub...223p_ug_en.pdf
    Laptop Model Number : 2349KQ1
    Last edited by mac_shinobi; 30th July 2013 at 05:21 PM.

  2. #2

    glennda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    7,802
    Thank Post
    272
    Thanked 1,135 Times in 1,031 Posts
    Rep Power
    349
    Which model of T430's is it - We have loads of these here and non of them do this.

    You may find its actually the drivers you have.

  3. #3


    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    51.405546, -0.510212
    Posts
    8,778
    Thank Post
    223
    Thanked 2,633 Times in 1,940 Posts
    Rep Power
    780
    Quote Originally Posted by mac_shinobi View Post
    the 23" monitors we are using also have HDMI and display port connectors as well as vga
    Using HDMI or DisplayPort would definitely be preferable to VGA.

    Quote Originally Posted by mac_shinobi View Post
    Any idea on what was used to get rid of the ground loop issue for the audio?
    Is that for the laptop speakers?

  4. #4

    mac_shinobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    9,729
    Thank Post
    3,252
    Thanked 1,049 Times in 971 Posts
    Rep Power
    364
    Quote Originally Posted by Arthur View Post
    Using HDMI or DisplayPort would definitely be preferable to VGA.


    Is that for the laptop speakers?
    1.) ok

    2.) I think it was for laptop speakers

    Quote Originally Posted by glennda View Post
    Which model of T430's is it - We have loads of these here and non of them do this.

    You may find its actually the drivers you have.
    2349KQ1 is the exact model number of the T430's we are using and I am using the driver which came on a cd with the monitor so device manager shows the correct monitor instead of generic monitor and as for drivers I use lenovo system updater to update all drivers / bios etc excluding active protection and a few other apps that we don't need

SHARE:
+ Post New Thread

Similar Threads

  1. VGA Ground Loop
    By british_government in forum Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 6th November 2012, 10:55 AM
  2. changing client screen res via remote desktop
    By andyturpie in forum How do you do....it?
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st May 2012, 10:13 AM
  3. I think we have a ground loop
    By sidewinder in forum AV and Multimedia Related
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th April 2011, 11:53 AM
  4. Lenovo 21 inch LCD/TFT Monitor - T53HNUK
    By CPLTD in forum Our Advertisers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th February 2011, 05:09 PM
  5. Whiteboard and remote screen connection
    By visualman in forum Network and Classroom Management
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th November 2009, 01:34 PM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •