+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Teacher Workstations in Technical; I'm in the process of pricing up some new machines for teachers to use in the classrooms, i'm getting quotes ...

Thank Post

Teacher Workstations

I'm in the process of pricing up some new machines for teachers to use in the classrooms, i'm getting quotes through from Stone for their USFF machines, and from Lane business systems for some Dell Optiplex 3010's. I've had quite a few stone machines in the past and they've always been pretty solid build wise and the support (on the few times i've had to use it) has been pretty good, however I have no experience with Dell machines. Any know what the Optiplex's are like for standing up to the punishment of teachers/kids fiddling with the front of the machines, or if they're on the floor receiving the occasional kick for example? Also how good is Dells support? What's the turn around time for shipping in replacement parts?

2. Thanks to LinkZ from:

Stone_Liz (10th July 2013)

Thank Post
    We have Dell optiplex 760's been in for over 5 years,

Nothing really has been wrong with them. I realise they may not be on sale now but im sure the newer versions will be about same quality.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    The newer optiplex machines have been pretty decent, 760 onwards, you should do fine with those

Thank Post
    We still have the 755 optiplex machines running strong and with win7. Support has always been next day parts on site but you get what you for regarding on site support. 100% fix rate in 3 years ive been here.

New machines wise we have HP 8300E these are rapid and not one fault in a year with any machines and very hard for kids for push/break parts.

Thank Post
    Hi LinkZ. I've PM'd you if you fancy a VeryPC option?. We love building teacher workstations, configured to order for EduGeeks.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by LinkZ View Post