+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Introduction of Android In Secondary School? in Technical; ...

Thank Post

Question Introduction of Android In Secondary School?

I am an ICT Tech in a secondary school which is currently using IPad's and IPad Mini's. We have had some ASUS transformers in, old first generation ones, which were never given a fair chance to be tested.

I admit myself, I have always preferred Android over IOS, but i understand the flaws in both Android devices and IOS devices.

The main problem with Android, however is that they are not unison in specs and even OS's, making it harder to roll out software.

I am going to be getting my own personal tablet with case and other gear, for a budget of £500, I have looked around and I am leaning towards the samsung galaxy tab 2, however this would still be cheaper than IPads for education, but I personally see it would be hard to convince the governing board to allow samsung tablets to be used.

I have looked at the Zoostorm tablets and they seem pretty good, never seen one in person though, and can be picked up for about £100.

I have also had a look at the google nexus, however we are looking for a 10" screen as a minimum.

We use software such as emurge on the IPads, and from what i hear works better on android than IOS.

So, as a personal tablet is the Samsung galaxy 2 a good one to go for?
    And what would be a good tablet to trial for usage at a school?

Cheers

- Adam

Thank Post
    I realise its not Android but you might want to look at the Windows Surface RT

Ridiculously low pricing on Surface RT for UK Edu this summer

At £130 for education we are considering it.

Thank Post
    I will have a look at it, but we are not planning to have any Windows 8 machines/devices being deployed, which is the main reason we are looking at android.

Thank Post