+ Post New Thread
Hardware Thread, Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E530 ... any good or barge pole? in Technical; Hi there, I have been reading through some threads about laptop preferences and wondered if anyone has any experience of ...

Thank Post

Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E530 ... any good or barge pole?

Hi there,

I have been reading through some threads about laptop preferences and wondered if anyone has any experience of these and the after sales service that comes with them. They have a 3 year NBD warranty but I have no experience of them. We have always had Dell here and have always received really good service when it comes to warranty issues etc. Is it time for me to move on, or should I stick with Dell?!

Lenovo spec: E530 Core i3-3110M 4GB DDR3 500GB/7200rpm DVD CD Multi Burner 15.6 INCH HD

If anyone has any advice I would be all ears!

Thanks

Thank Post
    I have one e530 (replaced a stolen e520) and about 35 e520's (older version...older CPU). We've had 10 of them for over a year and a half and just bought 25 for a mobile cart in August. I haven't had any problems with the 25 but had to warranty 2 from the older group. One needed a new motherboard and the other wouldn't take a charge. I ended up taking them to a local depot so I don't have experience sending them away, but Lenovo phone support was easy to deal with. I was very happy when I found out I don't have to call support and can just go to the depot without a support ticket number. Both of these had a one week turn around at the depot.
    The laptop with the power issue was an e520 with an i5 and only came with a 1yr warranty. The problem happened after warranty but I was able to purchase another year from Lenovo and drop it off at the depot the day after getting the new warranty.
    I too have had great warranty experience with Dell but Lenovo has been awesome so far. We've only been buying Lenovo's for 2 years.