+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hardware Thread, Toshiba Satellite Pro A200 fn+f8 not functioning in Technical; Hey guys and gals, Not sure if this is the right thread for this so apologies if not. The problem ...
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Wigan, Lancashire
    Posts
    120
    Thank Post
    8
    Thanked 29 Times in 17 Posts
    Rep Power
    9

    Toshiba Satellite Pro A200 fn+f8 not functioning

    Hey guys and gals,

    Not sure if this is the right thread for this so apologies if not.

    The problem is with a Toshiba Satellite Pro A200 laptop running Windows XP Pro SP3.

    I was asked to a classroom to fix another problem on this and another laptop, when I logged the user off this machine I suddenly wasn't able to log in to the domain over the wireless.
    So I took it to my desk and plugged an Ethernet cable in and it worked fine, logged onto the domain, but as soon as I unplugged the cable it of course wouldn't connect wirelessly.

    Toggling fn+f8 does absolutely nothing even though I know for sure that this key disables/enables wireless because I tried it on other laptops of the same model. The wireless switch on the front of the laptop is also switched on and toggling this does nothing.

    Having trawled through Google I can't find anything slightly useful, just people recommending toggle those switches.

    Also I tried system restoring to Sept 2012 but the problem persists.

    Within Toshiba's software on the laptop there is nothing to suggest that the laptop even has a wireless card. Device Manager shows only a FireWire adapter and Ethernet adapter under Network adapters...but when I choose to show hidden devices there are 2 Atheros Wireless Network adapters showing, neither of which have an error symbol:

    Atheros AR5006X Wireless Network Adapter - Packet Scheduler Miniport
    Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter - Packet Scheduler Miniport

    I've tried to provide as much information as possible but may have missed something out thanks for any help.

    Regards,
    Jack

  2. #2

    Michael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    9,266
    Thank Post
    242
    Thanked 1,575 Times in 1,254 Posts
    Rep Power
    341
    The A200 should have or is capable of having a wireless card. Have you tried flashing the BIOS?

  3. #3

    X-13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    9,472
    Thank Post
    632
    Thanked 2,117 Times in 1,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    19
    Rep Power
    882
    Quote Originally Posted by JackCPickup View Post
    Within Toshiba's software on the laptop there is nothing to suggest that the laptop even has a wireless card. Device Manager shows only a FireWire adapter and Ethernet adapter under Network adapters...but when I choose to show hidden devices there are 2 Atheros Wireless Network adapters showing, neither of which have an error symbol:
    The wireless adapters are broken [or missing].

    If a device is showing as hidden, with no errors, it means it's not physically there.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Wigan, Lancashire
    Posts
    120
    Thank Post
    8
    Thanked 29 Times in 17 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    It was fine on the wireless 30 seconds before trying to log in as admin.

  5. #5

    X-13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    9,472
    Thank Post
    632
    Thanked 2,117 Times in 1,453 Posts
    Blog Entries
    19
    Rep Power
    882
    Quote Originally Posted by JackCPickup View Post
    It was fine on the wireless 30 seconds before trying to log in as admin.
    Does it have to do some sort of setup?

    I've had issues with "requires an administrator to install this" popping up with graphics cards, despite the fact it works fine. If the user closes it, it usually defaults to "don't remind me about this".


    Have you tried deleting and readding the drivers?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    norwich
    Posts
    44
    Thank Post
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    14
    We had some of these (now taken them out of main school use).

    I can't remember if it's a seperate wireless card on these or not, if it is, try removing and re-seating the wireless card.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Wigan, Lancashire
    Posts
    120
    Thank Post
    8
    Thanked 29 Times in 17 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Pleasant surprise, after the 7th restart it decided it did have a wireless card after all so then it was just a matter of resetting TCP/IP and Winsock and all was well again

    Thanks for the help guys.

    Regards,
    Jack

SHARE:
+ Post New Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th August 2011, 11:23 AM
  2. Toshiba Satellite Pro A120 - No Sound
    By firefox_2006 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th December 2010, 02:54 PM
  3. [Wanted] Toshiba Satellite Pro A120
    By Edu-IT in forum Classified Adverts
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 19th November 2008, 12:02 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd May 2008, 09:10 AM
  5. Toshiba Satellite Pro A100
    By pmassingham in forum Bad Experiences
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2nd May 2008, 07:46 AM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •