+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Hardware Thread, Crucial V4 256Gb SSd and Lenovo T410 in Technical; Trying to install one of these SSD's in a Lenovo T410 - The laptop doesn't pick the device up as ...
  1. #1

    glennda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    7,714
    Thank Post
    269
    Thanked 1,116 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Rep Power
    345

    Crucial V4 256Gb SSd and Lenovo T410

    Trying to install one of these SSD's in a Lenovo T410 - The laptop doesn't pick the device up as an HDD (I can't see it picking it up at all).

    Any ideas what to try? I've updated both firmware of SSD and Motherboard but no avail.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    35
    Thank Post
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Checked in the bios that the SATA channel is set up correct and not a ahci mode?
    (Dells used to default to AHCI for some reason)

  3. #3

    glennda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    7,714
    Thank Post
    269
    Thanked 1,116 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Rep Power
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by ICTLTD View Post
    Checked in the bios that the SATA channel is set up correct and not a ahci mode?
    (Dells used to default to AHCI for some reason)
    tried that - doesn't work in AHCI or Compatability mode which these lenovo's have.

    If I put the SSD in another machine it works fine just not this T410!

  4. #4

    synaesthesia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Posts
    5,488
    Thank Post
    527
    Thanked 876 Times in 683 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15
    Rep Power
    438
    silly question - why NOT have it in AHCI mode? if you want any sort of performance you wouldn't want it in any other mode (compatibility/IDE) surely... you only set those if you CBA to find the sata drivers for XP.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    35
    Thank Post
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by synaesthesia View Post
    silly question - why NOT have it in AHCI mode? if you want any sort of performance you wouldn't want it in any other mode (compatibility/IDE) surely... you only set those if you CBA to find the sata drivers for XP.
    No Reason, but if it wont work in AHCI mode it is worth checking the other options. It was a suggestion to see if detected in other modes.
    As It does not I am not sure how to detect it to be honest.
    Last edited by ICTLTD; 25th October 2012 at 02:31 PM.

  6. #6

    glennda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    7,714
    Thank Post
    269
    Thanked 1,116 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Rep Power
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by synaesthesia View Post
    silly question - why NOT have it in AHCI mode? if you want any sort of performance you wouldn't want it in any other mode (compatibility/IDE) surely... you only set those if you CBA to find the sata drivers for XP.
    Yup - As it was said was just worth testing it.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    35
    Thank Post
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Can you drop it in an external box, will it then detect on the laptop? It wont sort the problem out but would maybe sort out if it was some sort of bios incompatibility or just some weird hardware one if it still does not detect.

    It is on the crucial compatible list so you may be able to get some tech support off them as they must have tested it (you would think)? Computer memory upgrades for Lenovo ThinkPad T410 Series Laptop/Notebook from Crucial.com
    If not it gives you a solid reason to return it as faulty.
    Last edited by ICTLTD; 25th October 2012 at 02:42 PM.

  8. #8

    glennda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    7,714
    Thank Post
    269
    Thanked 1,116 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Rep Power
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by ICTLTD View Post
    Can you drop it in an external box, will it then detect on the laptop? It wont sort the problem out but would maybe sort out if it was some sort of bios incompatibility or just some weird hardware one if it still does not detect.

    It is on the crucial compatible list so you may be able to get some tech support off them as they must have tested it (you would think)? Computer memory upgrades for Lenovo ThinkPad T410 Series Laptop/Notebook from Crucial.com
    If not it gives you a solid reason to return it as faulty.
    Thats where we speced it from.

    I might give them a call see what they say. It defiantly works as i can see it in another machine. I've put a partition table on it aswell incase that made a difference.. no

  9. #9


    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    51.405546, -0.510212
    Posts
    8,125
    Thank Post
    203
    Thanked 2,391 Times in 1,771 Posts
    Rep Power
    704
    Does the T410 have a UEFI BIOS and which firmware are you using on the M4 (010G)?
    Last edited by Arthur; 25th October 2012 at 03:19 PM.

  10. #10

    glennda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    7,714
    Thank Post
    269
    Thanked 1,116 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Rep Power
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by Arthur View Post
    Does the T410 have a UEFI BIOS and which firmware are you using on the M4 (010G)?
    Its a V4 not an M4. No further firmware updates available.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Shropshire
    Posts
    35
    Thank Post
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    I found this, not the same drive but perhaps worth a shout.
    http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/fo...1st-boot/page9
    Lenovo T410 with the same issue, Vertex 4 with FW 1.4, Lenovo T410 with latest BIOS (1.43) and Sata Drivers 11.0.5.1001 from Lenovo support site.

    Every time I shutdown and restart, laptop report error 2100 HDD Initilization error and drive doesn't appear in BIOS, pressing CTRL/ALT/DEL brings up a succesful boot.

    Will stick with the CTRL/ALT/DEL workaround for now but hope a fix comes soonish.
    Probably unrelated, but again worth a shot.

  12. #12

    glennda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    7,714
    Thank Post
    269
    Thanked 1,116 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Rep Power
    345
    Will try that now

SHARE:
+ Post New Thread

Similar Threads

  1. 256GB Crucial SSD 99.95 (SATA-II)
    By LosOjos in forum Links
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 8th October 2012, 01:51 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th January 2012, 08:44 PM
  3. Crucial C300 64Gb SSD
    By glennda in forum Hardware
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 16th June 2011, 08:56 AM
  4. SSDs and VDI
    By localzuk in forum Thin Client and Virtual Machines
    Replies: 57
    Last Post: 14th June 2011, 12:49 PM
  5. Help and advice on setting up cachepilot V4
    By PEO in forum Wireless Networks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th August 2008, 10:17 AM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •