+ Post New Thread
Group Project Thread, Developing an In House Software in Coding and Web Development; Hi All I cant give too much details otherwise I might give myself away. I want to develop an inhouse ...

Thank Post

Developing an In House Software

Hi All

I cant give too much details otherwise I might give myself away.

I want to develop an inhouse system for our school which the school is hoping to turn into something huge.

I am excited about this as its a huge project and can help me further my career and developing an inhouse system is something that I always wanted to do but I worry that I am not an experienced coder and I don't want to end up with a system due to lack of experience that is full of bugs or does not keep up with the constant change with technology.

As you know I am a data manager who line manages a couple of staff members. One of my staff who is finishing uni this summer has done computing as part of his degree so I can get that person to help. But apart from that (and a teacher who is learning to code as well) there is no one else who can really help out.

What advice would you give? Is it possible for me to develop a very good system or do you think we are out of our depth?

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisateen View Post
    I want to develop an inhouse system for our school which the school is hoping to turn into something huge.
    As you're a data manager, my first guess would be that you've decided to write a new MIS.