+ Post New Thread
Green Computing Thread, Power Management Help Please! in Technical; Hi EduGeek, I'm an IT Apprentice and am pretty much running the network in a secondary school I work at. ...

Thank Post

Red face Power Management Help Please!

Hi EduGeek,

I'm an IT Apprentice and am pretty much running the network in a secondary school I work at. The school is currently running Impero Remote Administration software that has a power management feature built into it although it doesn't actually work. I've done a lot of testing and can't seem to get it to power the machines off and then wake them again.

What software do you recommend I could use on the Network for power management and how I can monitor power usage? I'm doing this off my own back because I'd like to impress my line manager, who is also the director of business and finance.

Any suggestions and help would be much appreciated. Thankyou!

Thank Post
    Impero should work for that - it's a great piece of kit...

Their support is fantastic too, they'll be able to help you out remotely... no point looking for anything else while you've already got that...

Give them a call or log in on their support forum and they'll get you sorted... Impero Software

3. Thanks to RichCowell from:

JoeFulford (20th August 2014)

Thank Post
    You can script shutdown and Wake on LAN pretty simply. Managing the data on MAC and machines names could be done in AD and then a few lines of powershell ... and bob's a member of the family. WOL does demand that switches allow the magic packets though and on a large network that may be a problem for Impero and any scripts. Client PC's also need to be configured to allow WOL.

(Can anyone confirm that Impero's power management does actually work - I've seen several reports suggesting it doesn't).

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by pcstru View Post
    (Can anyone confirm that Impero's power management does actually work - I've seen several reports suggesting it doesn't).