+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Drivers not seeing cyclist a test! in General; Last night I did a test I stood in a slip road off the a456 with my bike lights on! ...
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Drivers not seeing cyclist a test!

Last night I did a test I stood in a slip road off the a456 with my bike lights on! I noticed very few drivers slowed down. The reason I tried this is I have ridden this slip road before and drivers have not seen me. I think I need to get a camera.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    As a cyclist and a driver a few questions do immediately come to mind - and the answers may be more beneficial than buying a camera.

The first is, how reflective is your reflective clothing? I saw a Panorama documentary not too long ago and it scared me to see how non-reflective some these supposedly reflective gear actually is. As a driver I've had a few near misses with cyclist I haven't seen, thinking they were dressed in black and finding they were wearing what they thought was hi-viz!

The second would be to ask about your bike lights. Just how bright are they? I think you need a good five or six bright LED's to be visable. It should be a steady, not blinking, light. And remember all a driver can see is a red dot ahead. You can't judge either speed or distance from it. I'd say proper hi-viz is more important than decent bike lights and much much easier for drivers to spot.

Finally I'd ask about the road. Is it a suitable place for a cyclist to be at all? Slip road suggests joining or leaving a dual carriageway - not a place for a cyclist. Especially joining, the last thing a driver wants is to slow down here. The purpose of the slip road is to increase speed to join the main traffic flow, I'd be aiming to hit at least 60mph by the end of the slip (depending on road conditions). Are their any minor roads running parallel that you can use instead? Even if it adds 15-20min to your journey time it'd be safer.

CAM