+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, Help! in General; The deputy head has asked me to do a presentation about our schools website, the use of social media as ...
    PEO
    Thank Post

Help!

The deputy head has asked me to do a presentation about our schools website, the use of social media as a tool and help desk. My ass has just droped as I've never done a public speak/presentation before and I have no idea what the hell to talk about. Can anyone give me some pointers or ideas what I should talk about.

Thank Post
    how long do you have to talk for?

The first time I had to do something similar I had produced a 'technical manual' which instructed staff how to solve the most common problems that affected the start of a lesson (SIMS errors, Connecting a laptop to a projector) as well as some basic housekeeping instructions for things like Outlook. My talk lasted less than five minutes but it was pretty daunting! I remember thinking that keeping it light and brief was the way to go... however I was only talking for 5 mins!!

PEO
    Thank Post
    Not sure how long I need to do it for but I'm planning to keep it under 5 minutes. just not sure what the deil i should talk about. everyone knows what social media is, waht a website is and most know what a heko desk is. grr

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by PEO View Post
    everyone knows what social media is
    Not sure on that. Many people know that Facebook is a way of seeing photos and chatting to someone (either via live chat or posts and comments), but fewer people have thought of educational applications of this, e.g. homework discussions.

Quote Originally Posted by PEO View Post
    most know what a help desk is. grr
    If you have one, demo that and explain the benefits of people logging calls via that rather than approaching you in the corridor, dining hall, car park or toilet (or supermarket!) (and I have been asked questions in all those locations!).