+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
General Chat Thread, Pay Rise in General; Over the past few months, I have seen a few ICT Technician jobs locally in north wales advertised, ALL of ...
    Thank Post

Pay Rise

Over the past few months, I have seen a few ICT Technician jobs locally in north wales advertised, ALL of which have started at 16k+, some even on 18-20k.

I'm on 13,500k, and I cant understand why, because the job descriptions for these posts i've seen advertised are fundamentally the same as mine, similar school size, similar roles, some are even as a group of technicians, i am a single technician.

Would the best way of going about asking for a pay rise be to sign up to a Union first and deal with it via them, or go to my managers directly and say "look, compared with the rest of the local area,im being underpaid".

The high end of my pay scale is only £15,500, which i think is silly, given that some are on £20,000 at the high end of their scale.

Thank Post

Re: Pay Rise

just say that you are applying for another job with better pay and future prospects, unless they can match what other companies/schools are offering

Thank Post

The best way to get a pay rise would be to apply for and get one of the other better paid jobs.

Thank Post

Go in wearing a smart suit and tie, this is usually enough to get most people thinking you have an interview, you may well be called in to discuss why.

Thank Post

Where I am now I'm comfortable and I'm happy, and its a leisurly 10 minute drive from my home town.

The problem is, this is my first job, Im 19, and I've only been here 5 months, most places ask for "atleast 2 years experience", which is a pain.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,255 Times in 786 Posts
    Blog Entries

Myself and the other tech here recently managed to procure a 4.5k raise.