+ Post New Thread
General Chat Thread, ICT Enrichment in General; Hi All, Hope you are all well ...? Just wondering if I could pick some brains. At our school we ...
    Thank Post

Lightbulb ICT Enrichment

Hi All,

Hope you are all well ...?

Just wondering if I could pick some brains. At our school we have enrichment sessions. I was thinking of putting myself forward to run an enrichment based on computers , how they work, hardware etc ..... because I feel that there are some students that would quite enjoy it and find it interesting and its something that I would have done when I was a student here.

Now if I do decide to do it I am not really too sure how deep into it to go without making it too boring, but informative as well. Like what each part is, ie CPU, RAM, Hard Drive, Graphics Card, Motherboard. Show them it on inside a PC, maybe get them to take some apart and put back together etc. The sessions would be an hour and 20 mins every two weeks, and their choice lasts a term. Is it something that I can do for that long without it being really boring?

Are there any schools out there that already do it and might be able to share what they do ... or if any of you could offer any advice and stuff on what you would do to make it exciting etc.

Many Thanks

Tom

Thank Post
    Can you explain what an enrichment session is? How is it different to a lesson?

Thank Post
    By my maths, that is 8 hours which is a long time to spend digging around inside the case of a computer. Have you considered games programming or video editing instead? How about setting up a school blog or podcast?

We did something called Computer Club for Girls a few years back - no good for you unless you're an all girls school, but there may well be other groups who do something similar.

Thank Post