+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
General Chat Thread, Site legal? anyone know of it? in General; Been looking for a copy of windows 7 ultimate for my new PC build and stumbled across this site... windows7key-windows8key.co.uk ...
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2
    Thank Post
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Site legal? anyone know of it?

    Been looking for a copy of windows 7 ultimate for my new PC build and stumbled across this site...

    windows7key-windows8key.co.uk

    seems a bit dodgy to me.
    Has anyone heard of it before, or know where it stands as far as legality is concerned?

  2. IDG Tech News

  3. #2

    plexer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Norfolk
    Posts
    9,559
    Thank Post
    306
    Thanked 882 Times in 792 Posts
    Rep Power
    211
    Looks dodgy to me wouldn't trust it:

    Domain name:
    windows7key-windows8key.co.uk

    Ben
    Last edited by Dos_Box; 13th February 2012 at 03:06 PM.

  4. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2
    Thank Post
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    That's what I was thinking, just wanted a second opinion and to make people aware of it.

    Cheers

  5. #4
    TheLibrarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Wolverhampton
    Posts
    936
    Thank Post
    195
    Thanked 198 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    63
    I've submitted the details to Microsoft asking if this is legit.

    TBH, the "It's too good to be true" alarm is sounding though.

  6. #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    153
    Thank Post
    9
    Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    click the follow on twitter or facebook links and they just point to twitter or facebook, not an actual group.

  7. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    503
    Thank Post
    5
    Thanked 101 Times in 92 Posts
    Rep Power
    21
    Looks illegal as they come.

    They have switch and solo logos to, even though they haven't existed for ages. There is no details on the contact us, not even an email address.

  8. #7
    wagnerk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Wellingborough, Northants
    Posts
    697
    Thank Post
    56
    Thanked 141 Times in 115 Posts
    Rep Power
    37
    I wouldn't be too concerned about the domain name registratant, as it may simply be a new start-up business. I've known a few start-up businesses that started up from someone's home.

    However this is what set alarm bells: Windows 7 Enterprise.

    Window 7 Enterprise, unlike Ultimate, to my knowledge is only available to organisations who go for volume licensing, and is not available to Joe Public.

  9. #8

    nephilim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Posts
    7,362
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thank Post
    921
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 789 Posts
    Rep Power
    448
    Most likely that they'd be technet keys for that price. Lowest price I could get a Win 7 Ultimate key is £35 and that is if I buy over 100 copies of it!

  10. #9
    matt40k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ipswich
    Posts
    3,130
    Thank Post
    218
    Thanked 368 Times in 313 Posts
    Rep Power
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by plexer View Post
    Looks dodgy to me wouldn't trust it:

    Domain name:
    windows7key-windows8key.co.uk

    Ben
    If Jonny pops over, make sure he reads this: Nominet - Opt Out

    At least make Microsoft work for they're money
    Last edited by Dos_Box; 13th February 2012 at 03:07 PM.

  11. #10
    NikChillin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    on the sofa
    Posts
    650
    Thank Post
    21
    Thanked 89 Times in 60 Posts
    Rep Power
    75
    Looks like it has been removed now. There is another site which sells cheap win 7 that is also legit, Student discounts, deals & offers for premium software in UK although this is until end March only.

SHARE:
+ Post New Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th April 2010, 01:34 PM
  2. Anyone know of any IT Jobs Leamington Spa / Warwick
    By mijenk in forum Educational IT Jobs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th October 2009, 09:19 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd July 2009, 07:13 AM
  4. Anyone know of any Sky+ offers?
    By beeswax in forum General Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th August 2007, 09:16 AM
  5. Anyone know of any good software usage logging software?
    By ninjabeaver in forum Educational Software
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 28th November 2005, 02:26 PM

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •